Divorce in Connecticut
Please note: local and state laws change constantly. This information is for educational purposes only. We do our best to keep this up-to-date, but please contact us to discuss your unique situation.
Getting Divorced in Connecticut
A decree of dissolution of a marriage or a decree of legal separation will be granted upon a finding that one of the following causes has occurred:
- The marriage has broken down irretrievably;
- The parties have lived apart by reason of incompatibility for a continuous period of at least 18 months immediately prior to the service of the complaint and that there is no reasonable prospect that they will be reconciled;
- Fraudulent contract;
- Willful desertion for one year with total neglect of duty;
- 7 years’ absence, during all of which period the absent party has not been heard from;
- Habitual intemperance;
- Intolerable cruelty;
- Sentence to imprisonment for life or the commission of any infamous crime involving a violation of conjugal duty and punishable by imprisonment for a period in excess of one year;
- Legal confinement in a hospital or hospitals or other similar institution or institutions, because of mental illness, for at least an accumulated period totaling 5 years within the period of 6 years preceding the date of the complaint.
Same Sex Marriage
The State of Connecticut allows same sex marriage. Wherever in the general statutes the term “husband”, “wife”, “groom”, “bride”, “widower” or “widow” is used, it includes one party to a marriage between two persons of the same sex.
A decree dissolving a marriage or granting a legal separation may be entered if:
- One of the parties to the marriage has been a resident of this state for at least 12 months preceding the date of the filing of the complaint or preceding the date of the decree; or
- One of the parties was living in this state at the time of the marriage and returned to this state with the intention of permanently remaining before the filing of the complaint; or
- The cause for the dissolution of the marriage arose after either party moved into this state.
90 days after the day on which a complaint for dissolution or legal separation is made, or after the expiration of 6 months where proceedings have been stayed.
Connecticut Divorce Laws and Marriage Laws
You can find a complete listing of the Connecticut divorce laws by searching “divorce” or “marriage” here.